Cookies help us provide better user experience. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies.
24 February 2019 0 comments Ehrenfeld

Ehrenfeld – Who`s that Boy I am Surprised Records / Believe Digital

The fire still burns.... easy going said. Everything as supplied before, by Peter Field. Needless to say, that he wasn’t alone in the studio. Anton”Toni”Fischer clearly set a course above at Ehrenfeld. Still style – ascetics will be deranged with a juicy changes of dissonance and harmony on an album. Repeated overhead with a joke, guest musicians and friend together with repertoire from combined musician background. You can’t talk about stagnancy or copy by himself seriously at this release. Rather from the awesome work from a man, whose live activity as musician it’s manifold on his degree of popularity in relevant media.

Destructive sounds from bust dark punk and electric flirtatiousness from the first solo album, far thirteen years ago, give away a solid character for disuse any confident genre pigeonhole. It was a balanced mixture, singular in this form – sometime fragile, sometime brute. But all songs on this album concerned, is an atmospheric content on neofolk arrangements on Anglo-Saxon imprint, alongside jolly bulky riff-rock. Already on the opener of the album: Arenas and resting place of the trickle off lifetime, to come pass moments of exhilarating and disillusioning. Adolescent nihilism versus subjectivism, oecumenical spirituality and pathos are further aspects, to give topical assert. Melancholy packaged into crafty song structures, but here without often resonant negative form of melancholy, rather with a pinch of dissipation.

Oh yes, the blessedly early days. Anybody who lives through, wants to dispose of it- who already has had this days, will yearn about it... Who wants to know something about himself, compares by hook or by crook. Junior with themselves, himself with the young’s and by the end to deal with yourself. There from narrated the psychedelic appeared “millionaire upon time” after a winking dreamed intro. Completely different following by “glittering star”, picked by an acoustic guitar with obscure bassline interweaved to suspense curvey that burst treated by insertion of Field´s distinctive sonorous Sprechgesang. This voice developed nicely, more warm and prusing as yet heard, he cry to the rescue liberator. Breathe soundscape and Felix Flaucher, the second voice backup the seriousness of appetite. It needs only one hearing alley to transmit, the attempt is completely successful to convey something wherefore the most songwriter not been able for: Passion.

The conciliation follows with “I´m okay” on the penalty. Pounding rock riffs like Tony Iommi underlay with a subsonic bassequence, put over to us. Never mind what is different to each other, only important to be here in the right point of time. Easy to accept closeness, to hold each other hand... a liberated feeling, which don´t want know nothing from limiting of being. Sinking temporarily into state of distress appears against the background of spending time just natural. There is only the one cigarette after it, there after is just the simply smoker. “One Half of the Moon” is anyhow only the simple part, the other appears with weird sequence of melody and once again refined by Felix Flaucher in the chorus.

None day like the prior day and more than ever rearranged song like his original. “Small & Tired” is growing to a puristic neofolk song. Earthy guitar, war drums and strings create a charming collage of the nonreversible world serpent sound, without socialdarwinistic proclamations, therefor with a lot of endlessly fragile nativeness. Silke Bischoff inveighed once again in this new garment and is placed in the middle of the album, perfectly. If Indians known any pain, can´t be calculated in the next song. However “The Great Mountain” Field & Fischer get over into incantatory shaman, who salute the great ghost with an entire relax, dance of the pipe of peace and wise piano samples. His protection is deemed to be the final cause of human pursuit, not only on the other side of the ocean.

Rooted in the Indian belief there is “Sacred Tree”, too, but on the other hand in old Germanic Ostara and finally in the Buddhism. “No one can see what you see in dreams”, could stand here in place of Siddhartha, who woke up in the middle of his life under a cottonwood and all the self-destructive hate, esurience as well as ignorance are drop away from him. The “Kingdom of Love” can now come to him, with fat bass and delicate pluck violin to let the reason passed. .. To let loose, ability of judge and spontaneity already exhibit at the beginning of a new relationship. With demonstration of sympathy begins mostly with “ “Come and Dance with Me”. When the convincing comes to the dancefloor, as well as merciless rock´n roll better known as the black butterfly from Manhattan, may nothing get in the way of the new happiness.

Along to the loveliest song of the album and the first extraction. Already the playful Synthie-Intro enchanted, till the lead guitar melody opens gently “Stay with me”. Voluminous dominated by string to accompany in this excellent relax, catchy song for a very own mood-which crowned by magnificent longing Vocal parts from Field versus Flaucher. It be a case for the return key, for the closed loop...

With “Shiva Moon” the circular time appreciation herald in and from the album, too. It demand not millions, only two adjuratory word, a few rhythmic accents of the sitar and siren background vocals satisfy, about the infinite loop from the end and to begin to dance. The music is all, you are nothing.

Autor: Ivo


01. Millionär An Zeit
02. Funkelnder Stern
03. I'm Okay
04. One Half Of The Moon
05. Small & Tired
06. The Great Manitou
07. Sacred Tree
08. Kingdom Of Love
09. Come And Dance With Me
10. Stay With Me
11. Shiva Moon

>>> Who´s that Boy Album hören und kaufen bitte hier klicken
>>> ​Ehrenfeld feat. Felix Flaucher "Stay With Me" Video anschauen
>>> ​Ehrenfeld auf Facebook